Catholic Practices, Duties, and Common Lists

Ten Commandments

1. I am the LORD thy God. Thou shalt have no strange gods before Me.
2. Thou shalt not take the name of the LORD thy God in vain.
3. Remember to keep holy the Sabbath day.
4. Honour thy father and thy mother.
5. Thou shalt not kill.
6. Thou shalt not commit adultery.
7. Thou shalt not steal.
8. Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbour.
9. Thou shalt not covet thy neighbour's wife.
10. Thou shalt not covet thy neighbour's goods.


The Precepts

1. You shall attend Mass on Sundays and on holy days of obligation and rest from servile labor.
2. You shall confess your sins at least once a year.
3. You shall receive the sacrament of the Eucharist at least during the Easter season.
4. You shall observe the days of fasting and abstinence established by the Church.
5. You shall help to provide for the needs of the Church.


The Seven Catholic Sacraments

1. Baptism
2. Eucharist
3. Reconciliation
4. Confirmation
5. Marriage
6. Holy Orders
7. Anointing of the Sick


Holy Days of Obligations

In addition to Sunday, the days to be observed as holy days of obligation in the Latin Rite dioceses of the United States of America, in conformity with canon 1246, are as follows:

January 1, the solemnity of Mary, Mother of God;
Thursday of the Sixth Week of Easter, the solemnity of the Ascension;
August 15, the solemnity of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary;
November 1, the solemnity of All Saints;
December 8, the solemnity of the Immaculate Conception;
December 25, the solemnity of the Nativity of Our Lord Jesus Christ.


The Corporal Works of Mercy

The seven practices of Catholic charity toward our neighbor's body:

1. Feeding the hungry
2. Giving drink to the thirsty
3. Clothing the naked
4. Sheltering the homeless
5. Visiting the sick
6. Visiting the imprisoned
7. Burying the dead


The Spiritual Works of Mercy

The seven practices of Catholic charity toward our neighbor's soul:

1. Admonishing the sinner
2. Instructing the ignorant
3. Counseling the doubtful
4. Comforting the sorrowful
5. Bearing wrongs patiently
6. Forgiving injuries
7. Praying for the living and the dead


The Seven Deadly Sins With Conquering Virtues

The 7 deadly sins with the corresponding conquering virtues. The conquering virtues are the virtuous actions that act as remedies against the deadly sins. Making the virtues habitual goes a long way in overcoming the seven deadly sins.

1. Pride (Humility / Modesty)
2. Envy (Kindness / Charity)
3. Lust (Chastity / Purity)
4. Wrath (Patience / Meekness)
5. Gluttony (Abstinence / Moderation)
6. Greed/Avarice (Generosity / Liberality)
7. Sloth/Acedia (Diligence / Zeal)


The Theological Virtues

The Theological Virtues are given at baptism, and are the foundation of Christian morality:

1. Faith
2. Hope
3. Love/Charity


The Cardinal (Moral) Virtues

The Cardinal Virtues are named because they play a pivotal role in Christian morality, and all other virtues are grouped around them:

1. Prudence (knowing the appropriate what, when, and how)
2. Justice (treating others fairly)
3. Temperance (acting moderately)
4. Fortitude (doing what's right in all situations)


The Three Eminent Good Works

1. Prayer
2. Fasting
3. Almsgiving


The Evangelical Counsels

1. Chastity
2. Poverty
3. Obedience


Nine Ways of Being Accessory to Another's Sin

1. By counsel ("You should get an abortion")
2. By command ("You must get an abortion")
3. By consent ("You are getting an abortion? Good idea!")
4. By provocation ("He will get angry if I keep bugging him")
5. By praise or flattery ("Way to cheat on your wife buddy!")
6. By concealment ("I'll cover-up your crime")
7. By partaking ("We can rob this business together")
8. By silence ("I know you stole it, but I won't tell")
9. By defense of the sinful action ("His car was unlocked; it deserved to be stolen")


Sins Against the Holy Spirit

1. Presumption on God's mercy
2. Despair
3. Resisting and/or attacking the known Truth
4. Envy at another's spiritual good
5. Obstinacy in sin
6. Final impenitence


Sins Crying to Heaven for Vengeance

1. Willful murder
2. Sodomy
3. Oppression of the Poor
4. Defrauding laborers of their wages


The Beatitudes (Matthew 5:1-11)

1. Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven
2. Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted
3. Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth
4. Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied
5. Blessed are the merciful, for they shall obtain mercy
6. Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God
7. Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons of God
8. Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness' sake, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven
9. Blessed are you when men revile you and persecute you and utter all kinds of evil against you falsely on my account Rejoice and be glad, for your reward is great in heaven


The Four Last Things

1. Death
2. Judgment
3. Hell
4. Heaven


Gifts of the Holy Spirit

1. Wisdom
2. Understanding
3. Counsel
4. Fortitude
5. Knowledge
6. Piety
7. Fear of the Lord.


Fruits of the Holy Spirit

1. Charity (Love)
2. Joy
3. Peace
4. Patience
5. Kindness
6. Goodness
7. Generosity
8. Gentleness
9. Faithfulness
10. Modesty
11. Self-Control
12. Chastity


Catholic Month Devotions / Designations

January - Holy Name of Jesus
February - The Sacred Passion (or The Holy Family)
March - St. Joseph
April - The Holy Eucharist
May - The Blessed Virgin Mary
June - The Sacred Heart of Jesus
July - The Precious Blood of Jesus
August - The Immaculate Heart of Mary
September - The Seven Sorrows of Mary
October - The Holy Rosary
November - The Holy Souls in Purgatory
December - The Divine Infancy (or The Immaculate Conception)


Catholic Weekday Devotions / Designations

Sunday - The Most Holy Trinity
Monday - The Holy Spirit
Tuesday - The Holy Angels
Wednesday - St. Joseph
Thursday - The Blessed Sacrament
Friday - The Passion of Our Lord
Saturday - The Blessed Virgin Mary